Minnesota Hit and Run Attorney
â€śHit and Runâ€ť is officially known as â€śLeaving the Scene of an Accidentâ€ť under Minnesota Statute 169.09. That law requires the driver of any vehicle involved in an accident resulting in bodily injury or death, or damage to a vehicle, to stop and provide basic information to the other driver, including their name, address, date of birth and drivers license.
If the accident resulted in the death of a person, the driver who flees the scene will be charged with a felony and may be sentenced to imprisonment up to three years in prison and/or a fine up to $5,000.
Our Minnesota Criminal Lawyer Handles All Types of Situations
If the accident results in great bodily harm to a person, and the driver fails to stop and provide the required information, that driver can also be charged with a felony; however, the penalties are slightly less, with a maximum sentence of two yearsâ€™ imprisonment and/or a fine of $4,000.
A concern for law enforcement is that many times it is believed that there was other criminal activity occurring at the time of the car accident, such as drunk driving or driving without a license/insurance motivating the driver to leave the scene.
All of the attorneys at Halberg Criminal Defense are very experienced in dealing with Hit and Run cases, including accidents involving death or serious injury.